I don’t like doughnuts…

I find it very interesting how varied our tastes are.

Individuals brought up on the same menu have as wide a variety of tastes as anyone.

Why?

There are some genetic components. Science has isolated quirky taste bits, such as, the drinking of orange juice after just brushing one’s teeth. Some find it “yucky”, others ask, “What’s up with that?” no difference.

Ah, Mother Nature has strange ways. Our bodies are such beautiful machines. Human’s don’t listen to their bodies as often as we should.

An example:

I love spinach. While expecting my first child, I could not understand why it repulsed me. Spinach is an awesome source of so many nutrients. Then, I read an article that warned about spinach having a chemical that, in large quantities, was not good for fetuses. My body knew…I realized that I had better start listening.

We can all imagine our “sweet tooth” is supposed to direct us toward fruit. In the modern world, sweet can be satisfied in many ways. I wonder why I don’t like doughnuts?

Not only does our body “Know” best, it remembers clues from things we have eaten. Once I ate more than my fill of Toll House cookies. I was about 6 and the illness I felt has made me avoid chocolate chip cookies all my life.

Obviously, our bodies educate themselves. Cave people needed to sample things to learn the “good” from “bad” food. Our bodies tell us what is good for us, if we listen. Even some vegetables that are scientifically “good” can turn people off. I just love raw carrots. When they are cooked, I taste a bitterness that is unpleasant. My daughter feels the same. It probably is not worth a national scientific study, but my body tells me that cooked carrots are not good for me and I listen. (I will eat them in a soup or stew but I refuse to enjoy them any other way.)

What ever clues our bodies have collectedย  are remembered. We may have had the flu and felt sick with something that did not deserve to be categorized, but, our bodies don’t care. Sick is bad.

This is why our tastes are so varied. At least, that’s why I believe they are.

I’ll accept a million dollar grant to research it …send your pennies ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “I don’t like doughnuts…

  1. You have me wondering why I hate cucumbers. I will not eat one and only eat sweet relish in a cold salad. I always thought it was because we didn’t eat them as children. The same with sweet peas or English peas as some people call them.

    I know why you don’t like doughnuts. The plain ones have 200 calories each. ha ha

Tell me something good...

