THAT is my answer…

My house is separated from my neighbor by six feet.

We have a privacy fence along that entire side because “good fences make good neighbors”.

On my side of the fence, I have a bird feeder. The bird feeder has been there for about 15 years. The neighbors are new.

This Spring there was the usual bird feeder “traffic”. Of course, birds and squirrels also, chipmunks collected the leftovers.

June arrived and new neighbors put up a large above ground pool. (a nice one) I usually slow down on the bird feeder refills at this time of year. I figure the wild animals should not become too dependent. Also, I’m broke from all the winter feedings.

One day, the neighbor asked if I was still feeding the birds. They were concerned that the chipmunk population would take over their yard and eat holes ,from below, in the lining of their pool. I had never considered that…I really had no reason to keep feeding. I said I would do it only from October to May. They were glad.

Today, my friend’s husband was in our yard. He asked why my feeder was empty. I told him the neighbor’s story. He said, “Why did you stop?” He went on to say that if it were he, he would never stop feeding. It was his yard and he had the “right” to feed the birds. I answered,”Being a good neighbor is more important than exercising my right. Besides, I have a big yard and, even though the fence gives me the best view, I have other choices.”

It wasn’t until later that I realized the situation was a bit like the Mosque at Ground Zero. At the very least, American Muslims should want to be good neighbors.

That is the most basic reason why I am against the Mosque at Ground Zero.

11 thoughts on “THAT is my answer…

  1. I’m not sure I make the good neighbor connection with regard to the mosque. They are not neighbors. They are loyal American citizens who share residence of the area. The “mosque” will actually be a community center like a lot of both securlar and faith-based community centers all over the country. There will be no call to daily prayer. In fact, this center will resemble the all-purpose Jewish community centers that many of us are grateful to have use of, though we are not Jewish. The center will be open to all to use for exercise, dinning, meeting friends and so on.

    On another note, any lessening of the extremes is likely to come out of places just like this in Western countries. These are the moderates. I woud submit that we should be anxious to support them.

    Further, what would make us assume that as American citizens just like the rest of us they are somehow more to blame and less hurt by the events of 9/11. These were not the perpetrators. Many of their friends and relatives were killed. Many of them were among the police and fireman helping to save lives at ground zero. They also number among the medical professionals who will save you or your child should you end up in emergency. Like other responsible Americans, they pay taxes, go to school, teach, heal, wait on us in stores …

    • Oh my,I am so glad I found your thoughtful response! I almost missed it and my silence would have been accidental but also,inecusable:-)
      I have struggled with this and began right where you are.
      I haven’t time,at this moment,to respond the way I’d like…I DO want to discuss this more and appreciate discussions of this nature.
      My Day Care kids are in need so I’ll definately have to get back to you…:-)

    • I do not see this, personally,as a war on Islam.
      BUT some folks are having a hard time finding middle ground.
      I agree with all that you said. Of course, calling it “a mosque at ground zero” is misleading. The media buzz has called it many things.(I watch ALL networks daily, not what I want to hear:-)
      My comment and decision was based on many days,and nights, contemplating the reality of the situation.
      The things I found to be true were:
      1. The 911 families ARE having a problem with this. Their reasons are their reasons.
      2.This may very well be used as a propaganda tool among those radicals who promoted the act.
      3.Religious freedom, as with any freedom,requires a responsible application. (we cannot shout “FIRE” in a crowded theater and apply freedom of speech.)
      4.I, personally,have a feeling that the American Islamic community has not done enough to denounce the radical terrorists. The outrage I would feel against others who ruined my reputation would be much more profound than what I have seen.
      5. Sometimes compromising,even with those who are wrong, is better than inflaming a situation.
      6. I am fortunate to have an Islamic friend who feels the building of the center would be an insult to our nation.She convinced me and I believe her view of those who value Islam, is important to consider.
      Thank-you for this discussion. Please add to it…I am not on the computer on weekends, but I promise to enjoy your thoughts. 🙂

      • “But if we say that a mosque and community center should not be built near the perimeter of the World Trade Center site, we would compromise our commitment to fighting terror with freedom.

        “We would undercut the values and principles that so many heroes died protecting. We would feed the false impressions that some Americans have about Muslims. We would send a signal around the world that Muslim Americans may be equal in the eyes of the law, but separate in the eyes of their countrymen. And we would hand a valuable propaganda tool to terrorist recruiters, who spread the fallacy that America is at war with Islam.”

        -Mayor Bloomberg

Tell me something good...

