Weather Prediction

Berkshire County Massachusetts

Since I am outdoors every weekend, I pay attention to the weather.
Farmers do too. It can make or break them.
Every year, I am able to compare the seasons. This year, everything was almost two weeks earlier than last. I have photo records to substantiate my claims but my memory suits me fine, especially when things are a bit “off”. Some of the things that I noticed were:

  • Lilacs bloomed in early May. They were gone before Memorial Day.
  • Salamanders came to our pond in April to lay eggs.
  • The Eastern Phoebes had nested before we put our awning out.(this is a first)
  • Blueberries were out in May. Raspberries too.
  • Blackberries ripened in mid-July.
  • The wood frog tadpoles have grown and gone. (I usually still find some.)
  • The katydids started singing in the last days of July. (usually it is around the 14th of August.)
  • The maple trees have begun turning colors at a quicker pace.

I don’t know what this means but I’m curious to watch as Autumn sets in. At this pace, we may have an early winter. Mother Nature just may be allowing everything more time to prepare.

The only thing I can say for sure is last winter was on schedule. Cardinals start singing a mating song in January and the last two years I’ve heard it one day apart Jan.25 and 24. I documented that phenomenon.

I predict the Fall foliage will peak before October…I’ll guess the 22nd of September. Let’s see if my observations are correct 🙂

8 thoughts on “Weather Prediction

  1. I sure hope you are writing this all into a form that you may actually publish it as a book regarding weather cycles in your part of the country.
    That could be an important volume for the public to compare to the bilge that is often fed to the public.

  2. I love this … clearly I don’t get out in nature enough, thought today I went birding at the wetlands. Wonderful.

    Thanks for this post, Susan. I see you’ve “redecorated.” Nice. Nice. I like it. I always say other women redecorate the house when they get upset about something. I redecorate my blog … Not saying that’s you.

    Have a great day … keep the poems and nature reports coming. Hugs –

Tell me something good...

