Who Rules?

I don’t do well with rules. Yes, they are quite necessary but so awfully confining.

Remember doing penmanship in school?

Mimicking retraces and loops in order to write cursive in a manner we could all comprehend. Besides my mother, I don’t know anyone who held on to that wealth after school years.

Remember early forms of art class?

“Hold your paper the long way…”,  “Color lightly…”, “Skies are supposed to be blue…”.  The biggest insult was getting to 8th grade and being introduced to the Impressionists! REALLY? So all that art stuff was helping us how?

Then the most insulting thing ever done to kids was introducing negative numbers after YEARS developing a “number order” picture in our heads!

I didn’t know where to fit them into my “mind’s eye”. A very tragic and unsettling event for me. The only thing that made any sense was the “two negatives make a positive” rule. I was able to remember this by saying ,”I’m not untying my shoe.”  Still, I couldn’t fully understand why the phrase meant that I was therefore tying my shoe. Seemed to me, I didn’t need to DO anything.

Don’t even get me started on rules of English and spelling! I before E except after C…weird!

You want to talk Gravity? THAT was supposed to be the biggest most unbending rule. In fact, it is a LAW! Ahhhhh!

It wasn’t long after this, that I learned that you could swing a pail of milk over your head using centrifugal force! The milk does not abide by that law, in that case? I am SO confused…Mom told me that I must not break a law!

As for me, I’m telling the kids like it IS…

Roll up your sleeves and hold the darn paper any way that you want and do not forget to leave cookies out for Santa this year.

7 thoughts on “Who Rules?

  1. AMEN TO THAT, SISTA, AMEN TO THAT!
    Instead of teaching us, “You draw a tree like this.” or “You have to pinch the clay pot like this.” they ought to be teaching kids the basic art skills. Expressing yourself, turning ideas into art, being creative. It’s always such a pain where they only try stuff like that in the higher grades because before you weren’t “deep enough” or something to get it. If we learned out to do things like that in 1st grade, then we could get better and better and be Picasso by 7th grade!

  2. I don’t blame you at all I like to take the “Pirates of the Caribbean” approach to rules…Captain Sparrow commented that the pirate code was more like a set of guidelines actually…As a former trucker who as broken his fair share I tend to agree. The world didn’t split down the middle and the sky didn’t fall and no one got hurt so I think that that what you are telling those kids are golden things to live by. Especially the cookies for Santa!…Also I am adding you to my “Awesome Writers Worth Reading” list. I love your poems.
    Have a great day!

  3. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/6244/

    Thanks a lot for the support to Jingle Poetry Potluck, I could not always find time to show how much we appreciate your support, here, three awards for you, hope to see you in of week 7, our theme is love and romance. Happy Monday, Happy Blogging! xxx

    I did try to change the rule due to suggestion by fellow officials, it does not work, people love to share, thus , poets can feel free to submit 1 to 3…

Tell me something good...

