News to all writers!

Novel Inspiration (Starts November 1, 2010) : For those poets who write fiction or have considered doing so, [Inter] National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30. Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved. This is an exercise in by–passing your internal editor and getting a jump-start on your novel. After the NaNoWriMo is over, you continue on your own to expand, edit, and refine your draft. In its tenth year now, NaNoWriMo had 167,150 participants world-wide last year. 32,178 completed the 50,000 word challenge. Sixty NaNoWriMo novels have been published including the New York Times bestseller, Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. A few community members- including Olivia – are already registered and ready-to-go on November 1. For information on 2010 NaNo, link HERE.
I signed up…sounds like fun!


11 thoughts on “News to all writers!

  1. Well, I have joined NaNoWriMo.org, and now, I have no idea how to make contact with people I know. When I use their search box, I only seem to be able to pull up documents.

    I hope you, Susan will also check it out, if you haven’t already done so.

    Maybe or writers from plinky will also join in and try their hand.

    • I am very excited to try the speed writing! I barely have had a chance to check out the site thoroughly…I registered as sillyfrog. Are you PKHawk there?
      I’ll letcha know what to do as I find my way around…I have a first chapter dancing in my head:-)
      Yes, let everybody know!

  2. Hi, Susan! Thanks for reposting this from my weekly column, Sunday Rally Dispatch. Nice if we can get more folks involved from our poetry community.

    To pkhawk — you need to go to “find your region” under NaNo near you. That might help. Also when you search for an individual you need to know exactly what name they’re using.

    FYI: I have written more about NaNo here:
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/2010/09/24/ready-set-go-november-is-international-write-a-novel-in-a-month/

    This will be my third year. I highly recommend the experience. Look forward to seeing you all on line.

    Congratulations on signing up for the challenge, Susan. Kudos to you and good luck. Have fun! 🙂

    Peace,
    Jamie

  3. Hi, Susan!

    I’m collecting the names of folks involved in our community who are also going to do NaNo so that we can buddy-up on the NaNo site. I plan to post it when I post Sunday Rally Dispatch. So if you like, please email me the name you are registered under on NaNo

    Look forward to buddying …. Have fun.

  4. Hi, Susan and Everyone!

    Just making a mini-round to let you all know that I’ve had a slew of emails with regard to National Novel Writing Month also known as NaNoWriMo and NaNo, which started on November 1. I’ve spent the night between cat naps responding and have posted a Q & A on line. If people would leave questions in the comments, we could all share info. It would be more efficient than emails. I appreciate the interest and wish all participants good luck. Here’s the link to the Q & A post.
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/2010/11/01/day-one-nanowrimo-or-just-plain-nano/

    Susan, I have linked to you as a “buddy” on the NaNo site. Others can link with me at “Jamie Dedes” if they wish to do so.

    Peace & Hugs,
    Jamie

Tell me something good...

