My Childhood Idols

He was only a TV character but he was my idea of COOL.

Actually, I wasn’t a small child. I believe I was 17. I would never miss an episode of Rockford Files.

James Garner was a favorite actor of mine since the Maverick series. That too had the same flare. He was a clever, problem solving,rule bending, good hearted guy.

Maverick and Rockford had only a few close friends…people who could communicate with them on a special level.

I remember having a dream in which I was being pursued by a “bad guy”. My nightmare turned into an exciting adventure when (still in my dream) I imagined “What would Rockford do?”. My fear turned into cunning and I prevailed.

My idols have always been those who were uniquely clever and could “think” a way out of trouble. I know there is also something about a loner/emotionally distant person that I find fascinating but “why?” I don’t know. I guess to be considered a friend of theirs was a challenge difficult enough to be fun… a prize only few could earn.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “My Childhood Idols

  1. Hi Susan, I also enjoyed watching Rockford Files. James Garner was always one of my favorite TV personalities and actors, as well. Of course there was also Roy Rogers and Dale Evans, Chuck Conners in the Rifleman, along with many more shows and actors who played good guys. The list is too long to add more now though.

    • So nice to hear from you,Helen!
      Yes, my friend, you and I communicate on that “special” level. TV heroes/cowboys have much to do with our view of things 🙂

Tell me something good...

