My Parents' Influence on My Personality

My personality favors my mother’s the most.

My intellectual curiosity and passion for new ideas is the gift I received from my mom. We recently had an opportunity to share the excitement we have for projects. Although I am considered the “creative” family member, Mom is a true creative person as well and applies her creativity differently but no less effectively.

I am a political animal which comes from Mom too. My husband has a bit to do with the level of my interest though.

Mom, my sister and I share a deep connection with our pets and a fondness for the English language and it’s proper application.

Whenever I have a question and my reaction is,”I must look that up.”, it’s from my mother’s inspired thirst for knowledge.

Her commitment to family and civil responsibilities is the cornerstone for the three “good citizens” that she raised. All of her 3 children have stayed in and been productive members of their hometown.

Mom read to us at early ages and brought us to the library. Family stories were very important to her father and she passed on, that love for a really good story, to me.

The fact that I consider myself a writer is her doing…thanks Mom!

Powered by Plinky

4 thoughts on “My Parents' Influence on My Personality

  1. Another good post, Susan. My grandpa, “Bunk” Stringer was a story teller, and he inspired me to follow in his footsteps. He didn’t write, but he could tell funny stories and jokes for hours. My thanks for my love of telling tales goes to “Pa”.

    • Thank you once again, my friend! I am often surprised by people who find stories uninteresting. I didn’t know they existed until recently… I thank goodness for storytellers!

  2. Thanks Susan ,
    I bet your kids both homemade and day care would have much to say about their Mom. Being a part of a family we take for granted,it’s also nice that we have an opportunity to pick and choose qualities from both of our parents..

    • I don’t think we pick qualities. I think they pick us. A quality is not good or bad any more than a feeling is…it’s how we use them, don’t you think?
      What we consider our strengths are often our weaknesses too…ah the complexity of human psychology…fascinating! 😉

Tell me something good...

