The Mouths of Babes.

If you are not aware of my love affair with watching my granddaughter grow…where have you been?

Katherine is one of the primary reasons for my blog and is therefore pictured at the top. Listening to kids has been my life’s work so when Kat came along, I was ready!

As seasoned as I am, Katherine “blows me away” with her innocent and insightful comments. She has taught me that I,did indeed, find the career best suited for me and that observing kids is never mundane.

My daughter, son-in-law and Katherine spend weekends camping with us. (We have trailers, generator power and DVD players…hardly roughing it.) Katherine and I are privileged to early morning, quiet, one to one times. Her Pepe and parents are not the cheerful.wide awake, risers as we. During our morning chats we pause to listen to and identify birds and discuss just about everything.

Just yesterday, she was sitting with me and watched her Pepe shaving and brushing his hair. She turned to me and said,” Awwwww! That’s so nice!”

“What’s so nice Katherine?”

“He does love you so much that he gets up and makes himself handsome, just for you Grandma.”

I hadn’t thought about his routine, in that way, for years. Thank-you to Katherine who made Pepe and Grandma look at each other with a twinkle in their eyes.

Later the same morning, we all went out to breakfast. Kat sat between her grandparents facing her parents. After the waitress brought our coffees Kat poked me and chuckled. “Look Grandma…Ed made an eddy.”

My daughter asked what was so funny. I explained that Kat saw her Pepe (Edward) stir up a whirlpool in his coffee. “Kat and I know that an eddy is another name for a whirlpool.” We gave each other a high-five as her mother said,  ” I will not let them skip her to first grade.”

5 thoughts on “The Mouths of Babes.

    • Charles…you make my heart dance with your comments too!
      I would be very honored to have a link on your blog…I am so very rushed with my 10 hour day care days that I haven’t returned the favor of reading your material…the few I have read are in sync with my views! 😉

  1. Thank you for sharing such precious moments with Kat and the rest of your family. It’s really right, you know? Pepe really does make his self all special, just for you, the love of his life.

Tell me something good...

