Good Advice

You may take a deep breath

But don’t hold it in.

Your ears might explode

and slip to your chin.

Raise your eyebrows real quick

and don’t make a sound.

Your face may peel off

and land on the ground.

If your face starts to slip

you must try your best,

To stop it from sliding

down off of your chest.

The right thing to do

Is lie down with great haste.

By this time, I dread,

It will be at your waist.

Β You chose not to heed me.

I hope you don’t sneeze!

Your face has no business

Attached to your knees.

There’s hope for you still

If you raise your feet high.

Now grab for your chin

and the edge of one eye.

Ease your whole face on up

back to your head.

Now lower those legs

and relax on your bed.

Next time, you will listen!

And I DARE to repeat,

Who wants their nose

That close to their feet?

26 thoughts on “Good Advice

  1. I remember with love–my granny used to write such kind of poems and gift them to me. This one totally made me see her writing for me. Tq.

  2. Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  3. Could you be the mother of a gymnast? πŸ™‚ Reminds me of all the mom things I heard from my own Mom and other kids’ moms, like don’t cross your eyes, they’ll get stuck like that. Nice poem with a playful feel.

Tell me something good...

