Lucky LaValley

We had a dog when I was a kid. My parents spotted a black puppy outside of  a shop in Bennington ,Vt. . He was the runt of his litter, so they say. A Black Lab without papers. I believe they paid 25 or 35 dollars for him. I was visiting my grandparents’ farm when the rest of the family came to own him. When we were introduced, my parents thought I should name him, since I had missed the excitement of finding him. They had been looking for a Black Lab and mentioned many times how lucky they were to spot him. I liked the name Sam, but the name Lucky was mentioned as a possibility. We decided to leave his name to a flip of a coin.

“Lucky” became a neighborhood legend.

He was a black lab and something else.

His bloodline wasn’t the best.

Whatever he was, he was one of a kind

And stood out from the rest.

Played with all kids in the neighborhood

We needn’t worry ’bout dangers.

Many a times his hackles were raised

At the sight of any adult strangers.

Oh how he loved to ride in the car,

He’d hide down on the floor.

Wouldn’t come when he was called

T’was freedom he adored.

Traveled through the neighborhoods

Black pups were here and there,

Treed raccoons and dug some holes,

Adventures… had his share.

To this day, he’s thought of still.

Been thirty years and more,

He’s talked about at campfire chats

Our Lab of local lore.

Lucky LaValley

9 thoughts on “Lucky LaValley

  1. Memories of Lucky are always welcome-of all our various pets he was outstanding.
    Since you were young and my memory of finding him is probably more accurate-the litter of puppies he came from were “supposed” to be purebred but without papers, he was not the runt but the handsomest puppy there.
    He grew into a magnificent animal in my estimation no matter his lineage and I think they probably lied about the pure bred part.

    • I knew that they promised he was purebred but we realized he wasn’t a purebred as he grew. Dad had said he was the runt since day “one” (he was told that Lucky was the smallest of the males.) and you took him because he was the only male left.
      Ed knew Lucky before he knew me. He can tell you some stories about Lucky hanging around the Stanton’s when they had picnics.

  2. I love this one. We have also had more than one dog that was really great. Wags was the first one that was a legend in our town. The richest man in town had a huge, mean dog, and he attacked Wags one day. Wags beat that dog so badly, it’s owner tried to shoot Wags, but someone stopped him.

    Wags was so large, I used to ride him like a pony, when I was about six years old.

    Wags was Chow/Shepherd mixed. He was all red, and had a short coat. He was still just a pup when he earned his reputation for beating Mr. Trammel’s dog.

    • Oh my!
      We had a dog my parents called Professor. He was part Airedale terrier and could “lick” even a group of German Shepard dogs. My mom could take me, on our main street in a carriage, and leave me outside of the store (briefly)with Professor sitting beside me. Pity the fool who might reach into the carriage.
      He used to ride on my father’s oil delivery route. They’d stop for lunch at a local cafe and Dad would buy him a hamburger.Sometimes, Professor would go to the cafe without Dad and the owner would give the dog a hamburger and charge Dad the next time he stopped.
      I feel another story brewing…

Tell me something good...

