I’m going to try this…

Chris Donner, Mystery Writer

Plots!  Where do they come from?  How do you come up with them?  That’s what I wanted to know before I became a writer.  In fact, the idea of coming up with plots was the single most thing that prevented me from writing.  Words, character development, description, dialogue… all of that I can do.  But how do you come up with a plot?

Now that I’ve done a few of them, it seems simple, but at the beginning it was daunting.  Hallie Ephron’s “Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel” has some great pointers.  The place to start, though, is to open yourself up to possibility.  Here’s a little exercise for you… I’ll give you a topic and you write as many plot ideas as you can come up with.  But first, I’ll be nice and give you an example.

View original post 247 more words

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Writing… « GIRL IN THE BUTTERFLY DRESS

Tell me something good...

