NATURE KNOWLEDGE: Eastern Ribbon Snake

This is an Eastern Ribbon Snake. There’s no doubt, when you look at the photo (above) ,why they are called Ribbon Snakes. They are very long and sleek. They are often confused with Garter Snakes (below)which are thicker and shorter.

Garter Snake (photo credit: Troy Bartlett)

I had to get a Garter Snake photo from elsewhere. My old photos are badly organized. Betcha know how that is?

As for Ribbon Snakes, both they and Garter Snakes, bear their young “live” in late summer (no egg laying for them). When I took many of my Ribbon snake photos, she was surrounded with smaller snakes. I figured they were males trying to mate with her.Β  Later on, I realized she was surrounded by her offspring since it was September and not mating season. (See how rumors get started?)

Mom with babies.

Ribbon Snakes eat bugs, small rodents and amphibians. They like to swim and are found hunting and living by water.

The one that I photographed (above) was a very large female. She was close to the maximum length of 29″. Yes, she was living right beside my little frog pond. I watched her swimming on several occasions.

As usual, click on photos for a closer look.

19 thoughts on “NATURE KNOWLEDGE: Eastern Ribbon Snake

  1. Ha, I thought I’ve been seeing Garter snake but now that I’ve just seen the pic. I’ve been seeing the Eastern ribbon Snake……Wait until i tell my husband. I learn something new here everyday! Thanks:)

    • Thank-you…please correct any misinformation. I’m trying to report from personal sightings.
      Been thinking about the poor ducklings and the Snapping Turtle. Many large species of fish eat ducklings too. Did you see the snapping turtle attacking them? I’ve heard that they do. Seeing it, would have been very disturbing. 😦

      • It is such a little pond and there are never any fishermen there, so I suspect that it doesn’t have big fish. But I could be wrong about that. I didn’t see a turtle take a duck myself, but there are plenty of YouTube videos showing just that (even fully grown ducks). Every time I went there, there were fewer ducklings. I actually photographed “the last duckling” before it disappeared, too. Since I had seen a very large snapping turtle in this pond a number of times, he seemed like the most likely culprit to me, but that is just a guess on my part. Snapping turtles are actually way smarter than I had realized. They also bury themselves on the bottom of ponds with just their heads sticking out, so they can lay in wait for something to swim by.

      • Thanks Deb…I’ve fished very small ponds which can hold Pickerel ,Pike,Largemouth Bass and catfish. Gar fish live in small channels too.
        I checked on Youtube and they all love to eat baby, sometimes,adult ducks.
        I’ve found these fish in seemingly remote places. The videos were too disturbing for me to watch but they exist.
        I love a good nature mystery…maybe someone else will add their knowledge to this. Cheers.

  2. We relocated eight of this from my flower garden last year…yes, all at one time! Thanks for the info because we assumed they were garter snakes. We kept seeing one between the hostas but when we saw so many at one time we took them to a wooded area nearby. I’m wondering if a few of them might have been garters as they were brown and fatter. I’ve only seen one small one so far this season.

  3. Hello! I recently desire to offer an enormous browses upwards
    for that good data you have got below with this post.
    I’ll probably be returning to your web site for additional shortly.

Tell me something good...

