NATURE KNOWLEDGE: Camel Cricket

I believe this is a variety of camel cricket. The ones that I have found in my online search, have a humped-up back…this does not. I’ve found them beneath tarps in moist environments at our camp. The largest ones have bodies almost as long as my thumb and an overall length(tip of feelers to tail) of about 4 inches.

If anyone knows more about this specific cricket, please add links and information.

Camel Crickets prefer dark damp areas. I personally like their “woody” appearance and texture. They can become pests to homeowners but, in the woods, are just a small marvel.

Their eyesight is poor due to their preference for dark places. I suspect this is what gave me the opportunity to photograph this guy without a quick get-away.

5 thoughts on “NATURE KNOWLEDGE: Camel Cricket

  1. “I personally like their “woody” appearance and texture.”
    This comment cracked me up! How many people would say something like that? You’re one of a kind, Susan.

Tell me something good...

